The Nautical School of Maritime Licensing is seeking instructors for our NYC (USS Intrepid Boat House) location. Must have a valid MMC. Call Us for more information 631-226-7300

NYS SAFE BOATING CERTIFICATE/COURSE

Class Details

Course Name:
NYS SAFE BOATING CERTIFICATE/COURSE
Course Number:
SBLI031924
Course Price:
$99.00
City:
Lindenhurst
Class Location:
TNS Headquarters (Lindenhurst, NY)
178 West Hoffman Avenue
(Walking distance from the LIRR train station)
Lindenhurst , NY 11757
First Date of Class:
03/19/2024
Dates:
March 19-20
Schedule:
5:30pm - 9:30pm
Register Now!
Online Registration

Class Enrollment Cancellation Policy: Classes conducted are based on enrollments. Therefore, class cancellation by student within ten (10) days prior to start of class, or failure to attend ("no-show") by student is subject to forfeiture of entire fee and no credit will be issued. No exceptions. Refunds may be requested only if scheduled course canceled by the Nautical School.

If you do not want to register online, please call or download the registration form and mail or fax it to:

The Nautical School
178 West Hoffman Avenue
Lindenhurst, NY 11757

Phone: 1.631.226.7300
Fax: 631.225.1577
Download Offline Registration Form

More Information

This class is strongly recommended for boaters of any age, and of any level of experience who want to keep their skills current and up to date.

A Safe Boating Certificate may be obtained by ANYONE from age 10 and older by completing the 8-hour Safe Boating Course offered weekly at the Nautical School.

The law in New York requires the following people to have a Boater Safety Certificate.

  • Anyone who is at least 14 years of age and wishes to operate a personal watercraft (PWC)
  • Anyone who is at least 10 years old, but less than 18 years old and wishes to operate a motor boat (not a PWC) without adult supervision.

If you are less than 10 years old you may not operate a motor boat alone. Someone over 18 years old must be on board with you

You don't need to obtain a Boating Safety Certificate if you are:

  • a certified NY Safe Boating Course instructor
  • a holder of a valid New York State Public Vessel Operators' license
  • a US Power Squadron instructor
  • a member of the US Coast Guard Auxiliary
  • licensed to operate boats by the US or Canadian Coast Guard

In addition, police officers, peace officers, fire and rescue personnel and lifeguards may operate boats without a boater safety certificate while carrying out their official duties.

In addition to teaching the particulars of handling a PWC, the courses will also be beneficial for any boater wishing to learn more about the rules of the road, reading buoys, boat handling, and other boating safety related topics.

The course is designed as a comprehensive boating and safety course, and is approved by the National Association of Boating Law Administrators. The course requires a minimum of 8 hours of classroom, usually given either on a Saturday 9-5pm or 2 weeknights 6-10pm. Course topics include the following topics:

  • Accidents and Emergencies
  • Boat Operations
  • Boating Related Activities
  • Boats and Motors
  • Equipment
  • Fueling and Ventilation
  • Marine Environment
  • Navigation
  • Numbering and Registration
  • Personal Watercraft
  • Rules of the Road
  • Safe Loading and Powering
WHO:

The courses are open to all boaters. You must be a minimum of age 10 to obtain a certificate.

WHERE:

Most classes will be held in the nautical school's headquarters in Lindenhurst, NY, ask about special scheduling available for clubs and organizations

HOW MUCH:

The cost of this course is $50 or free, depending on location